Discuss New Microwave Oven requirements in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm not an electrician but I would like to think I'm pretty switched on with electrics (pun intended).
I have just purchased a new microwave oven to replace my existing microwave.
The new microwave is rated at 900w max and the grill is rated at 1000w max.
Now currently the microwave is off the kitchen ring main via a fuse spur down to a single socket, I wanted to reuse this and I thought 1900w max is well within the limit of a spur until I read the manual and it says it requires a 16A Fuse. I don't agree with this. Could someone please clarify if the Fuse spur is ok to use still as I don't really want to install a new circuit. Thanks

Hi, thanks for reply, no it didn't come with one which is also why I was confused, normally they would come with one fitted. Am I right in thinking that as long as it doesn't pull more than 13A then it's fine to go on a spur. That's around 3kw so it's well within the limit.

Under the Plugs and Sockets etc (Safety) Regulations 1994 appliances intended for household use should come with a BS1363 (13A) plug. There are some exclusions, one being if the appliance has a rating exceeding 13A and with the manual stating 16A this could be a get out clause or it does require 16A fusing. Can you post a picture of the rating plate.

You have to follow what the manufacturer tells you to use, they have done testing/warranting the safe use of the equipment etc, on the basis of their installation instructions being followed.