Discuss New trainee electrician! in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

PLW

Hi guys,

my name is Phil and I'm a trainee Electrician. Although I've been on this forum a while I never actually introduced myself.

I'm currently working full time and decided I wanted a career change and decided to train towards becoming an electrician. I am doing a distance learning course with a company called Trades Gateway. They send me all the theory work and I work my way through the modules with help from a tutor who I can contact through email or phone. Once I have completed the relevant theory modules I then go to one of the practical training centres to learn about the practical aspects and undertake the exams.

The course includes the following qualifications:

Part P defined cope leading to Part P full scope.
City & Guilds 2377
City & Guilds 2382
City & Guilds 2357
City & Guilds 2392
City & Guilds 2394 and 2395

I have seen a lot of other different City & Guilds electrical qualifications and am slightly confused as to which ones are actually needed in order to become a fully qualified electrician. I have been ensured by my course providers that the qualifications that I've listed above are sufficient enough to enable me to become a fully qualified electrician, but wondered what you guys think.

Thanks.

i think 2357 includes AM2, not sure about NVQ3. if both are covered, then you should get a JIB gold card

The 2357 should be inclusive of NVQ Level 3. This would require assessment in the workplace, which may not be an option until you actually start to begin working in the industry.

All of the other qualifications are complementary to other necessary skills and circumstance.