Discuss Newly Qualified in Brighton in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi Dom, no easy answer there. When you say you are fresh out of training do you mean you have no experience? Or are you a member of a CPS scheme? What area are you working in?

Hi Dom, no easy answer there. When you say you are fresh out of training do you mean you have no experience? Or are you a member of a CPS scheme? What area are you working in?

Are you a DI?, think that's the term.

Yes, I'm qualified as a domestic installer and as I was a teacher prior had next to no experience. Since July I've concentrated on non-notifiable work which has helped me get more hands on experience in the real world. The extra experience weeks I paid for during my training were very useful and got me up to a basic competence level. I know my limits and when to read up to make sure I get it right. I will take additional courses to add to my skills over time so eventually I'll have a wider range of work I'm qualified to take on.

I've been distributing 1000 leaflets a week to drum up new business and have had 8000 printed. It's a little disappointing when you get so little response but you only need a few jobs before the leaflets are paid for. In terms of starting out what other options are there as obviously getting work via word of mouth is for those who are already established. How long should I expect to have to keep plugging away like this until I start to earn a living out of this?

Word of mouth is pretty much everything. Most people will tell you that 80-90% of the their business comes from word of mouth/repeat custom. It takes time, a lot of time.