Discuss Outdoor supply for gate control in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I need to supply the gate control fitters with a 10a supply for the control of some new electric gates im having fitted.
The supply would be on the outside wall of what is my Dining room.
My plan is that I was going to come off of an existing double socket into a new fused spur set flush next to the socket.
next I was going to go out of the rear of the fused spur through the wall and terminate in a rotary IP66 20a rotary isolator.
The fused spur would be 13a fused and the cable 2.5mm T&E.
Can you see any problems with this?
I should add I am an Electrician just never done domestic and so no 17th edition etc.
Yes I understand it should be done by a part P but why when I'm more than capable?

sounds OK, but would be better to come direct from CU. own fuse, dedicated circuit. if you are doing as you suggest, it's not a new circuit so part pee is irrelevant, but be aware that a fault on the gate installation can take out the RFC socket circuit. make sure the FCU is double pole so you can fully isolate if needed.

Hi Guys,
I need to supply the gate control fitters with a 10a supply for the control of some new electric gates im having fitted.
The supply would be on the outside wall of what is my Dining room.
My plan is that I was going to come off of an existing double socket into a new fused spur set flush next to the socket.
next I was going to go out of the rear of the fused spur through the wall and terminate in a rotary IP66 20a rotary isolator.
The fused spur would be 13a fused and the cable 2.5mm T&E.
Can you see any problems with this?
I should add I am an Electrician just never done domestic and so no 17th edition etc.