Discuss Ovens One at 3.45kw with 16A rating and one at 3.65kw with 15A rating - same radial? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

Chris Norman

Hi all,

I recently started training to become a domestic installer. I have some practical experience and some knowledge of part P. Also done a little testing but only continuity and insulation resistance.

A friend of mine is fitting a new kitchen and will be having two ovens side by side. He will get a qualified electrician to do the work but it got me thinking how I would go about installing them.

Both ovens are as follows. One at 3.45kw with 16A rating and one at 3.65kw with 15A rating. I've not taken any diversity into account as figured both ovens could be on at same time.

The first idea I came up with was two seperate radials using 2.5mm twin and cpc with a 20A breaker on each in the CU.

Could both be put on the same radial circuit?? If my calculations are right, assuming no grouping, clipped direct etc. 7.1kw total load so 4mm cable would be adequate (in reality and to future proof 6mm??) with a 32A breaker in the CU. How would this work practically when installing? Cable from CU into 45A cooker switch then into cooker outlet and parallel to second outlet.

Could each one be switched separately but still on same radial? Not sure how that would be installed?

All just theory so your input and explanations would be much appreciated.

Chris

Last edited:
either method would be acceptable. the easiest would be a 32A MCB feeding a 45A isolator in 6.omm then a dual outlet CCU for the 2 ovens. the 2 separate 20A radials would give you the benefit that if 1 oven weer to be faulty, it could be isolated independently of the other oven.

Have you applied diversity to the two cookers?