Discuss panel loss in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

cook1e

my father in law had an array of panels fitted, the inverter had a digital display that showed a flat line that equated to the number of panels he has installed, that flat line has now equated to having 4 of the panels disconnected. The installer has said there is a problem and downloaded the data for the manufacturer to have a look at, this seems to be dragging on with no response as yet

My father in law is a retired chartered electrical engineer who had a lifetimes work in buildings and power so is pretty savvy, whilst I am a mere electrical contractor with no personal interest in MCS - plus I live 250 miles away

any one any ideas ? do the latest meters measure how many paneles are generating or connected ?

thanks in advance

Martin

The DC votlage should show you how many panels are generating. i.e. a string of 10 panels where the operating voltage per panel is 35V should give you a voltage of about 350V in good light.

Tom

The DC votlage should show you how many panels are generating. i.e. a string of 10 panels where the operating voltage per panel is 35V should give you a voltage of about 350V in good light.

Tom

Thanks for the reply Tom, i wasnt sure if they were series or paralell wired, I will ask my father in law for some more info.

Martin

after chatting with him today, he tells me his system is 14 sanyo panels, and an sma sunny boy 3000 inverter, it is 1 single array (1 dc switch), and for the first month would show a peak of about 2.95 kw today on a very sunny day it is peaking at 2.4 kw, he sent me a piccie of the display, it seems regardless of how much sun he has up there it always peaks at 2.4 kw.