Discuss Pat test on Battery Charger. in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Morning all.
I have a battery charger for a 9V drill.
It's double insulated and i'm treating it as IT because of the electronics inside.
I believe the only test I can carry out is the Leakage test (which is satisfactory at <0.1mA)
I'm new to pat testing but thought I'd got it sussed!
I've checked copies of test results for various companies and they all state the insulation resistance in m ohms.
How can thy be carrying out insulation tests on this type of equipment?

Cheers,

Dave

Morning all.
I have a battery charger for a 9V drill.
It's double insulated and i'm treating it as IT because of the electronics inside.
I believe the only test I can carry out is the Leakage test (which is satisfactory at <0.1mA)
I'm new to pat testing but thought I'd got it sussed!
I've checked copies of test results for various companies and they all state the insulation resistance in m ohms. M ohms
How can thy be carrying out insulation tests on this type of equipment? they can't.

Thanks for the speedy response!
Not being funny but I've been a spark for over 30 years! I didn't realise I was going to get corrected for incorrect punctuation!
I think I was at school the last time I had something corrected in red!!!
I bow to your superior intelligence and will remember to put my glasses on the next time I post something!
GEEZE!

I don't think it was punctuation that was the problem - it was the fact that used milli instead of Mega prefix. Daz