Discuss Portable Appliance Testing advice. in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

antony73993

The company I work for are responsible for carrying out all the testing in a high profile chain of stores. The customer is of course expecting everything to be done correctly so they are fully complaint. My company has said that any appliances that are located above the ceiling or in voids should not be tested. The majority of these items are iec leads supplying power supply units that supply shelf lighting in the shops. I feel my company do not want to test these as they are behind with the contract and want to catch up. Some of the power supplies will fail a PAT test so in my opinion I think it's important to test them but I need some legislation to back it up with.

I am an in-house electrician for a large engineering firm, one of my responsibilities include PAT testing a couple thousand electrical items every six months. My rule to myself is a simple one. Test everything. I'm not sure of any reg's making it so certain items do not require a PAT test but I would still test everything. No matter how long it takes, or how busy I am, I will always do a proper job. Safety First!

I like this one. Its interesting just to find out what is classed as a 'Portable' item and what should be checked.

According to the Gov web site: http://www.hse.gov.uk/pubns/indg236.pdf
Portable and movable equipment
A portable or movable electric appliance is any item that can be moved, either connected or disconnected from an electrical supply. Portable or movable items generally have a lead (cable) and a plug.
Portable and movable equipment includes the following: