Discuss pricing in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

The fact you're asking suggests you're new to self-employment or planning to go that way. Go on the basis that the first two or three months are a paid learning curve when you'll win some and lose some. After a while you'll get the hang of it.

PJ

Hello sparks

Whats best way of pricing for a job

Per point.
Per hour.
Per day.
Including 10%.

I'm pretty new to pricing as well and always find it difficult.

For smaller jobs I tend to quote as I am getting to know how long it will take me and what is involved. For larger jobs (when I say larger I mean something that will take a few days - thats big for me!) I tend to charge per hour, I give the customer a rough idea of how long it will take but I make it VERY clear that it is an estimate and may take longer if I come across complications, or sometimes shorter, in which case they pay less.

Initially I did not add on anything to my material costs, but I realised that I was spending quite a bit of time choosing and sourcing the materials so I now add on a bit, perhaps 10-15%.

Thanks for your input, I'm thinking of charging £25 an hour on hourly basis including 10% for any complications ,not an easy thing to do is pricing, never know if am charging too much or too cheap

If you're charging too much you'll be constantly undercut, too little and you'll get every job and never make any money. The local economy will dictate what you can get away with, the more you price the better you'll get at it.
At a guess I'd say £25ph was light for London but others will tell you better than me.

I've found that it doesn't really matter what you quote (within reason) when dealing with the general public. If they like you and think that you're professional, then they'll have you.
I've lost track of the number of times that someone has said to me "You're the 3rd electrician I've had out, and I really didn't like the first 2. When can you start?"