Discuss Problem in a junction box ? in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

Jimmy928

Hi There,

First of all I am not a electrician, I am a carpenter. But my client has had a recent problem with a series of lights... and I am just seeing if its something that I could possibly fix or it is something more serious and need to get a registered electrician in.

There is 7 different light switches in the room. the first 5 work fine. then the last 2 are not working right...
first of all I put my electricity wand up to the light fitting and it is indicated its live so we tried new bulbs/new light batten... still not working so I brought a voltage tester and its reading 2 volts ???

could this mean that maybe the neutral wire has come loose in the junction box when we have re-insulated & plaster boarded the ceiling ?

Any help would be much appreciated.

James

carefully measure the voltage L - E at the light when it's supposed to be on. if you get 240V (ish) then it's a sure sign that the neutral has been lost. i am assuming that the cpc (earth ) has been connected and not just cut off as a builder would do.

carefully measure the voltage L - E at the light when it's supposed to be on. if you get 240V (ish) then it's a sure sign that the neutral has been lost. i am assuming that the cpc (earth ) has been connected and not just cut off as a builder would do.

Thanks for the reply.

I tested the five lights that I'm guesting are previous in the circuit and I was getting 220v (ish) but then on the some voltage setting I was get 1-2 volts on the next light. I'm going to have to look more into it tomorrow when I get back to work. just hope I'm not going to have to start cutting holes in the ceiling trying to find the junction box.