Discuss PV System Limits in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mantissa

Hi,

I am not an electrician, but am about to take the plunge on installing a PV system (or rather having one installed, I should say. By the way, any installers on the Hampshire/West Sussex borders are welcome to get in touch!)

My investigations have yielded some interesting (almost) conflicting information. I am keen to get the most out of the FIT in order to get past the payback point as soon as possible. For this reason, I would like to fit the maximum 4kWp of panels. However, there seems to be problem with fitting an inverter which chucks out >16A. I have an email from SSE (Scottish and Southern), my DNO and they said that until then end of March, they'll be waving through 4kW inverter output installs on G.83/1, but after that G.59/1 will apply.

I was wondering just how onerous a G.59 installation is for something that is greater than 3.68kW but less than 4kW. Does anyone have any experience of such a system. Of course, I'm talking domestic here...I have read in these forums the requirements for 99kWh, but I can't see that 3.88kW (4kW and a 97% efficient inverter) will cause eyebrows to be raised!

The alternative I'm considering is using a 4kWp array feeding an inverter which *can* be fitted under G.83, but from my looking at what's around, I don't see a 3.68kW inverter, so are they programmable to limit output current if required - as would be in this case?

Finally, my roof space is a little tight to get the 4kWp panels on anyway (so all the above may be moot!) as I only have 26.52m^2 (10.2m X 2.6m). How close to the roof edge is considered appropriate - are there any regs that apply here or is it just a rule of thumb? With Sanyo 235s I can keep it to 9.48m X 2.3m which is still tight, but I wondered if it was too tight?

Thanks in advance.

John