QS

Discuss QS in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Pete999

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I was listening to a debate regarding Part P and a point came up regarding Quality Supervisors, one chap mentioned that many of the larger Contracting firms, say 30 operatives would operate with only 1 QS.
Now I'm no expert but I have a good Friend who was a QS (he is a member of the Forum) not sure how many Electricians the firm he worked for had, but it was far to many for him to handle on his own.
He had this responsibility and was expected to do installs as well, the firm he worked for paid lip service to him, basically, the way I read the situation was "we need to have a QS to enable us to be a member of the particular scheme they were affiliated with" never really took much notice of his findings, often falsifying EICs etc, not much this particular Guy could do about it, he was just about keeping his head above water as it was, which was a pity because as well as being a nice guy he is a good Electrician as well.
I answered a post yesterday about the responsibilities of these schemes and how they would respond to complaints not only Customer complaints, but complaints from QS staff, the consensus was that the scheme would either suspend or cancel the membership, now I don't know about you guys but I find that strange, but of course it's all a monetary concern, the schemes don't seem to care, just cancel membership of bad contractors and move on to the next one,
The only recourse any customer complaint about shoddy workmanship after they have been given the finger by the particular scheme in question would be Trading standards, a sad state of affairs imo, bring on 1 governing body for Electricians, rant over:mad::mad::rolleyes:
What are your opinions?