Discuss RE-TRAIN AS AN ELECTRICIAN AT 29 GOING 30 ..WERE TO BEGIN in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

V

Vegeta

Hi,

basically as the title says I am thinking of re training as an electrician. (domestic & commercial)

My background.....I have done a degree in electrical and electronics engineering and gained a 1st class 6 years ago.....my job after degree was servicing & calibrating medical equipment which included fault finding & PAT Testing were needed. my current job Im an electronics development technician and basically verfiy circuit operation, fault find & repair ,build test boxes wire-harness and work with 3 phase motors.

as you can see from my experiences i think i can handle training to do electrics.

the reason I think it will be a suitable career change is because Im a practical person and enjoy being in different environments.

Also its either I stick to my job and work till retirement or try become an electrician and in 15 years time have my own lil company and working part time basically when I want. Im not looking for £25ph at the end of day but enough to live a simple life of.

My questions are:

Since I have a degree is their any way I can shorten the time I would have to go college ??? am i able to go straight on to a level 3 or even the NVQ????

Does anybody know of any colleges that do the level 1 & level 2 electrical installations in the evening in Yorkshire???

Can somebody lay me out a typical route to becoming a fully qualified electrician (courses to take and in order)???