Discuss Recognition of South African testing qualifications in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Peter Hartley

Hi there Guys

Need some help here. I came over from SA in October. I have been formally trained in testing and inspection and obtained my C&G Level 3 Electrical Installations and Level 3 building regs. I was a active contractor in SA and did hundreds of inspections and certifications. The JIB recognized my training as electrician and gave me Electrician grade and not Approved electrician. NAPIT insists that I must do 2394/5 and wants to charge me a £1000. It seems ridiculous that I have to pay that amount for training I already completed. I was fully qualified and licenced in SA. Now I am not sure if I am allowed to test and inspect. Has anybody else managed to get their overseas qualifications recognised and registered with a competent persons scheme?

Yes you are considered competent to test and inspect your own installations with your existing qualifications.
Napit is but one of many schemes and their requirements may not be the same as others.
£1000 is about the going rate for the 2394/95 combined course and holding these certs will get you approved JIB status.
At one time Napit offered their own "version" of the 2394/5 which was only recognised by themselves.

What do you require from a scheme membership ? That is, what work will you be carrying out that necessitates a scheme membership ?

Yes I have formal theory and practical testing and inspection qualifications. I'll be doing mostly PIR's and mostly shop fittings. Not sure if scheme membership is needed. I was under the impression that one needs to register with one.