Discuss Running a shed from an extension lead - Part P in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

Outofphase

Hi all! First things first, I'm not a qualified electrician but I consider myself competent and very safety conscious. I've been tinkering with electronics for a long time. But I need help :D

I've wired up my shed/workshop with 4 double sockets and a light fitting. Sockets are on 2.5mm cable, lights are on 1.5mm. All earthed properly. This is all in 20mm conduit for mechanical protection. I have installed a consumer unit in the shed with 3 MCB's fed from 100a RCD. The 4 double sockets are split into 2 circuits, each pair through its own 16a MCB. The light switch is fed from a 6a MCB. The consumer unit is supplied through a 32a Isolator switch.

The power to all of this is supplied from a weatherproof lead (about 8 meters) through my bedroom window and plugged in my bedroom (ring) with a standard 13a plug. Before anybody stains their pants, I know the limits of this setup. I only run a 1.5kw fan heater and the 60w incan light at the same time. If I use power tools, the heater gets turned off. I always check the 13a plug indoors for heat, and the lead gets coiled into my shed overnight. I never get the plug warm in use.

Anyway, I want more watts available. I had the idea of using a 32a blue 3pin caravan-style plug to hook up to the shed. I'll have to get an electrician in to run the 6mm t+e from the consumer unit to the 32a socket outside the house. I have some 6mm armoured cable already.

My question is, will my shed then be subject to regulations etc? I will only plug the shed in when I need power. If I can't get a beefy 32a socket installed, I will continue using the 13a lead. I just have to be careful with load.

Any help/stories of experience would be great!

Thanks.

why not get your electrician to run the SWA and give you a permanent safe installation to the shed.