Discuss Safe Zones, 230yr Old Cottage in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

G

GPHouse

Hi

New here and hoping someone may be able to provide some advice. I'm not a novice from a wiring perspective but from a regs perspective I haven't got a clue.

I will also be engaging an electrician for a load of works but need to do some prep work as part of renovation and route planning.

I have a 230yr old cottage with rubble walls and lime plaster (60mm) which is a little fragile. There is some existing working circa 10yrs old running ring mains to a consumer unit.

I am currently looking at adding some sockets and in part of the building I am doing some work... BUT....

Given non standard joist sizes and the fragility of the plaster I cant run new cabling though the flooring, or in the traditional safe zones (from the roof down) without compromising the structure or the original features / plaster.

Are Safe zones a recommendation or a requirement when working with LABC?

There is a natural void behind the skirting - If a method of trunking cables behind the skirting, and affixing the skirting in a regularized (and obvious way) would this be acceptable as risk mitigation? If so could I get away with 1" rectangular trunking (plastic as lime and metal dont play well) or would I need to go for stainless steel conduit?

Any help gratefully received!

G

Zones are a requirement, not a recommendation. There are ways around them, however, most useful probably being the use of earthed metal containment such as steel conduit or SWA cable.