Discuss Self build - wiring a new network. Advice please. in the Computer and Networking Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

janner43

Hi all,

Thanks for taking the time to read this and hopefully to give me some advice. :)

1) I am building a self build home and want to wire it for networking
2) The network will be wired through a NETGEAR GS608-400UKS 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories
3) We are going to be using it for smart TV, possible NAS access and general domestic "computery stuff"
4) I only want to do this once and within a balance of affordability I would like to do it in the best way possible.

My question is what sort of network cable should I run?
Cat 5e or Cat 6?
Shielded or UTP (unshielded twisted pair)?

If you were to explain why you think one is preferable to another I'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Hi mate, I work in IT, we don't even run cat6 - you will get gig speed with cat5e. Unless you're planning on running the next Google from home it will be more than sufficient for decades to come. We tend to run UTP too. In a domestic environment that's all you'd need, even if running in locations near power cables. There's no need to over think it, stick with the basics and you'll be alright.

Couple of smart tv, nas, supply, couple of computers, that's 6, so why buy a 24 port? It'd be overkill and a waste of money.

The OP did say he wanted to do it once and do it properly!

I've run wiring for 8 in my place and the extension will require about 4 more........ so thats 12 to begin with!

The OP did say he wanted to do it once and do it properly!

I've run wiring for 8 in my place and the extension will require about 4 more........ so thats 12 to begin with!