Discuss shower isolator switch in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

can the shower isolator switch be left ON all the time and the shower turned ON and OFF from the switch on the shower itself.

It should be. The isolator isn't intended to be a functional switch (although often used this way).

As above It's been a long running debate over the years. The isolator is exactly that an isolator not an on off switch.

What..... people actually use the shower isolator switch instead of the shower switch itself? Why?

What..... people actually use the shower isolator switch instead of the shower switch itself? Why?
I don't know. My background is industrial and mostly in three phase variable speed drives and motor controls.
The kit is fitted in enclosures, normally IP43 or better. The panel is fitted with a door interlocked isolator, actually a fuse switch, which may be three or four pole depending on customer specification and padlockable in the off position. The usual spec is load make, fault break, not something it would routinely be used for.

The fixed speed motor panels are fitted with motor rated contactors which are used to break the current in normal operation. On the VSDs, the drive is disabled before the contaactor is opened. In both cases, the contactors are AC3 rated.

Most if not all shower switches are manufactured to BSEN standards that would enable and permit use for functional switching. That said, it's not something I would do myself or encourage customers to do.

Table 53.4 contains info about devices, product standards, and their uses and functions.

You mean you don't know??!! :eek:mg_smile: