Discuss Sjib in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

StevenFraser

I have been trying to get a SJIB grading card but have come up against the following obsticles.

I completed an Electrical Engineering apprenticeship which had all aspects of Installations, maitenance, fault finding,inspection and testing of electrical systems. I also have 17th Edition IEE qualification. SJIB have said since it was engineering and not an SVQ in electrical installations, I am not an electrician and can't get a card.

I contacted SECTT and they said I can do a competancy test to prove that I am more than qualified to meet the standards but need to get the 2391 qualification first and the ECS qualification/card.

This will cost a small fortune to get this.

Is there anyone out there that has had the same experience and what did you do?

The ECS card is the JIB card in England, so I assume it's the same in Scotland.
You have to take the ECS test, and then you have I believe two years to apply for the JIB/ECS card.
You shouldn't require the 2391 to obtain a card, just if you want approved grading.
You may find that you will require an NVQ before getting any grade other than that of Trainee.
I have heard of people getting Electrician graded cards, by getting refferlals from employers.

Reply to Sjib in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

NICEIC Certification Scheme Getting accredited to
Looking for some advice regarding joining a CPS. I've been in the electrical industry in various roles for nearly 10 years. I started my...
Replies
Views
Morning all, We are looking at qualification requirements for inspection and testing to BS EN 60204, all of our work is past the main isolator of...
Replies
Views
I have recently completed my HNC in electrical engineering at college and I am looking to get a job as an electricians mate. what do I need to...
Replies
Views