Discuss Smart home rewire in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

conrad

-
Reaction score
Just purchased a new house, going to be rewiring... Anyone have any experience with smart home any wiring diagrams/plans/tips/ideas... any input greatly appreciated. Maybe just installing cables for future proofing etc. at the moment. Early doors. Cheers.

Take a good look before you leap. Depending on the system you pick, the wiring could be radically different and in some cases, perhaps non-existent.

I've no personal experience on installing this stuff but it is something I'm interested in. Went to a NAPIT Trade Association meeting last week, we had a talk by Gira about their solutions. Much of their stuff is wireless, so no switch wiring.

They have retrofit style devices and DIN rail mounted gear that you could fit from day one, so concentrate your lighting control say in one location, this approach obviously has very different requirements on the wiring front.

But I would definitely investigate thoroughly the option before you rewire.

Thank you... I need to do some research... I was thinking for future proofing .. possibly wire conventional and add extra elv/Lv cables that may be required for systems etc. Needs to explore different systems.

Controlling via smart phone apps or remote control via central hubs etc not sure myself at the moment. Haha but wondered if anyone has done similar.

Id just put conduits in the walls and mark up where they are on the floor above for the switches on the ground floor and you won't even have to bother about it on the first floor if you have an accessible loft, then you will be covered either way. Unless it's a plug and play kind of system with a plug already on it that won't fit down the tube!!