Discuss Split Boards! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

cotty

Hi, I'm a Electrical Trainee, not long qualified to be a Domestic Installer. I have my 2382,2377 and EAL Level 2! The question is: I'm going to upgrade my mums electrics as there's no rcd and it's on the old re-wireable! My query is because the under floor heating is on a separate cu and economy 7! Can I put all circuits on a split rcd board or should I just leave the under floor board alone and just put a board in for the ring circuit etc??

leave the economy 7 board as is. fit dual RCD ( or RCBO) CU in place of the "normal" CU. what size are the tails, and what earthing system is it?

edit: are you going to use job for cps assessment?

I'd start by defining how many circuits there are...... and don't forget to review/upgrade/install bonding to the incoming water and gas....

also, it depends on which type of metering you have. if it's not a dual tarrif meter you couldd lose the ecomomy 7 for the UFH if you put those circuits into a combined CU.

haha. you should be on the stage........ the next one leaves in half an hour.

Leave the underfloor heating well alone, or bills could raise.
Do some testing BEFORE board change just incase there's an issue that the RCD wont like.
In the nicest way possible...a DB change is likely to take you a little while and wont leave much time for fault finding same day. (I have a DI working for me)
Check bonding and main tail sizes first. This is a notifiable job.

High possibility that circuit cables will not be long enough so be prepared to extend them.

Sorry all....not going to be so charitable.