Discuss Testing and comissioning in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Reid

Hi all,

so I have been working for an electrical company for several years now and every test we do Is covered by our employer under the nic eic. I have also acquired private work mainly family and friends, my question is how do I go about testing and certificating? being nvq level 3 qualified it is my understanding I can t&I my own work providing I use blank certificates i.e non nic sheets.

if someone could point us in the right direction it would be much appreciated.

thanks peeps,

Hi all,

so I have been working for an electrical company for several years now and every test we do Is covered by our employer under the nic eic. I have also acquired private work mainly family and friends, my question is how do I go about testing and certificating? being nvq level 3 qualified it is my understanding I can t&I my own work providing I use blank certificates i.e non nic sheets.

if someone could point us in the right direction it would be much appreciated.

thanks peeps,

All notifiable work must be notified using one of the three routes recognised by the Department of Communities and Local Government in England:

Route 1: Direct notification through Local Authority Building Control
The homeowner must contact Building Control directly to ensure that a Building Control Officer visits the installation and issues a compliance certificate. The cost for this can vary depending on area.

Route 2: Self-certification through a recognised scheme such as ELECSA, NICEIC, NAPIT, STROMA, etc.

Route 3: Certification by a registered Third Party
In the latest Approved Document, a provision has been made for an alternative route for installers who are not registered competent persons (Route 2) and wish to appoint a registered third-party certifier to inspect and test the work as necessary.

Last edited:
Part P has not changed in Wales.