Discuss Testing for dead in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

D Skelton

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Hi people, just a quick question. I've ordered a couple of things online to go in my slowly expanding tool kit (I'm new to this game) and one of the things I ordered is a Steinel 1129 Voltcheck 3, link below. I only want it for testing for dead to make doubly sure that the circuit I'm working on isn't live. I got it because I wanted to steer well clear of a neon for obvious reasons but when I ordered it, I missed the part where it says it doesn't conform to GS 38. What is GS 38? Does it matter for what I want to use it for and most importantly, is it a good buy? Is it safe?

Steinel 1129 Voltcheck 3: Amazon.co.uk: DIY & Tools

Last edited:
http://www.hse.gov.uk/pubns/priced/gs38.pdf

The tester you have purchased is a good sensible step from a so called 'neon' mains tester.

I strongly suggest that you aim to replace the tester with a GS38 compliant one in the near future along with a proving unit. Only then would you be considered to be carrying out a safe isolation procedure effectively.

If you are a typical home DIY'er then you can probably get away with using a tester such as this for your own needs, however if you were operating commercially and using the equipment it will most certainly be considered as unacceptable.

Oh darn, should I send it back then? I'm currently in a sort of apprentice role at the moment whilst studying my 2357. I was planning to use it at work, mainly domestic and the occasional commercial job like I said, only to test for dead.

GS38 is an HSE Guidance Note. It is NON-statutory, but......

Electricity at Work Regs 1989 specifically (Reg 14) which is statutory.

HSE GS38 defines the requirements for test instruments.

Two examples: