Discuss Tips and Advice for certification assessment in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

Ian Holdham

Hi all,
I will be looking into getting assessed for the first time in the next few weeks, and as i have not previously obtained qualifying supervisor title to my list of credentials i am a little in the dark with it all. I have applied for the full scope certification and have experience in testing commercial and domestic premises. as i am new to this inspection could you give me some advice and tips on what will be expected of me as a principal duty holder/ qualifying manager?

Thanks

Ian

Hi all,
I will be looking into getting assessed for the first time in the next few weeks, and as i have not previously obtained qualifying supervisor title to my list of credentials i am a little in the dark with it all. I have applied for the full scope certification and have experience in testing commercial and domestic premises. as i am new to this inspection could you give me some advice and tips on what will be expected of me as a principal duty holder/ qualifying manager?

Thanks

Ian

Who have you gone with?

In joining Napit, they should send you an information pack telling you what is required, from your description you should have all the relevant paperwork and reference material available.
As you are a currently working and experienced electrician you should meet the qualification requirements as well (NVQ3 generally).

For the assessment, they will review the above requirements, inspect some installations and certificates authorised by you, and also assess your level of competence both in inspection and testing and understanding of the requirements of the building regulations and the procedures you have in place to ensure that all installation work undertaken is suitably assessed by you to ensure compliance with the wiring and building regulations.

These requirements should not be too taxing for someone already working in the industry.