Discuss Training advice please in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

P

phil_c

Hi all i am new here.
i have spent a lot of nights on here researching but nothing really relates to my situation.
so i want to retrain as a sparky at 24 but heres the problem, i have multiple sclerosis, a 3 year old and house so college/apprenticeship isnt really for me due to financial & family commitments & also with my ms i can have really bad days where i wouldnt be able to attend college or go to placement. I am currently a mechanic but it is very very hard work. So the only viable option i can see is to train through olci and become self employed so i can just work at my own pace. olci claim that with their qualifications i would become fully qualified and be able to set up my own business as a sparky, i understand that nothing compares to good old experience but is it a really viable option?
Thanks phil

Sparkying can be pretty hard work at times as well, you'll know about it if you've spent the day with a grinder and breaker chasing in concrete and wielding a lump hammer all day. If physical work could be an issue then you perhaps might consider a more desk based design type job which would probably involve studying to near degree level.

Hi Phil. In all honesty do you think pursuing becoming an electrician and having MS would be the right choice to make? The job involves standing up all day, going up steps/ ladders, crawling through lofts and even the most able bodied people struggle sometimes. You'd end up being a danger to yourself and others on site.
My dad has MS and worked as a sparks, his condition quickly deteriorated so he is now unable to work on the tools as he just doesn't have the energy or balance to be on his feet all day.