Discuss Twinflex Fire Alarm Zone Fault Comes And Goes in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Hi all, I am not an electrician, I am a tenant in a building where a Twinflex fire alarm system is installed. I have seen a thread on the subject in this forum so I thought I would ask if you have any thoughts about the following matter.

For more than two weeks now we have been experiencing a strange issue related to zone fault detection: almost every day a fault is detected, always in the same zone (which covers five flats across two floors of the building -- so I believe seven detectors overall including two in the corridors).

When the fault is detected the control panel buzzer makes its noise and the amber light associated to a fault in that zone flashes, then we silence the buzzer (we don't reset the panel), then after a while the fault goes away by itself (the amber light is not shown anymore). Of course when the fault goes away also the setting silencing the buzzer is deactivated so in the following occurrence the fire alarm starts buzzing again and so on.

As I mentioned above it happens almost daily, usually between 6:30 and 8 in the morning during weekdays while later in the morning and in the evenings during the weekend. The fire alarm maintenance people state that the only explanation for this is that in one of the flats people are disconnecting the detector on purpose and then reconnecting it.