Discuss Typical earnings in First Year in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mestizomad

Hi,

I am currently employed full time. However i have been self employed before for several years and i used to work as a labourer for 5+ years.

I am considering going back to being self employed and on top of my other business in IT, i was thinking of becoming a fully qualified Sparky, eventually with a Gold Card.

It will obviously take me at least a couple of years and several thousand pound to train and if i did so i would be around 30 by the time i'm trained.

Could any others Sparkies here give me a v rough idea of the the kind of monthly / yearly earnings i should expect as a self-employed Sparky? Doing mostly Domestic jobs, small Commercial jobs and PAT Testing.

I don't expect the earnings to be massive, i just want to get a general idea.

Cheers

Marcus

How long is a piece of string!

Where are you based? Location matters a lot

Twice as long as from one end to the middle!!lol

But seriously, the average earnings will be different for everyone and like Murdoch says, your location is also a factor, as is how many hours a week you intend doing, what sort of work will you be doing, i.e, mainly domestic, commercial etc. There are a lot of factors to consider.

Jay

Hi everyone,

Thanks for your replies. My location is Nottingham.

I would intend to work pretty much full time, so around 40 hours per week if possible.

The work would be mainly Domestic and PAT testing. But would eventually want to do qualifications so that i can do Domestic Solar PV and Wind installation.

I would also dabble in CCTV and Alarm Systems, as i have many years of experience installing these and used to work in a security company installing these systems.

An easier question may be: What is an average hourly / daily rate for a Nottingham / East Midlands sparky?

Thanks

Marcus

Last edited by a moderator: