Discuss Understanding Earth/Shock in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Gigsy

-
Reaction score
Hi I am studying to become an electrician.

There are a few things I do not fully understand regarding shocks and earth and I cannot find the answers to some of my questions.

Can anyone help me understand the following points regarding a standard TN system.

1) If you are in a loft or a 2nd floor, how can you get a shock from touching a live conductor, does the building structure ground you? if so surly the shock cannot be that bad, surly the resistance of the building should be really high. How does the electricity find a path to earth? The building is wood and brick. Wood and brick have a high resistance. This makes no sense to me.

2) If I stood on a rubber mat (or a different high resistance insulator) can I then touch a live conductor, without getting a shock?

3) Even when you are just standing on the ground, how can there be enough current passing through your body to harm you if you touch a live conductor. I mean The resistance of the earth is reasonably high, the current would have to go through your body then through the earth all the way back to the transformer. Surly not much current would flow. If I touched a light bulb to the line conductor and attached a conductor to the negative of the light bulb, then touched the other end of the conductor to earth, would the bulb light up?

1) if you touch a live conductor then any chance earthing that may exist in contact with you e.g. an earthed metal pipe could present a path to earth and generate enough current to kill. Mainly the resistance path to earth is reasonably high and you only get a minor shock, say less than a couple of mA, not nice but not deadly.