Discuss Unvented system wiring help in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

chappy2000

Hi, hoping someone can help me out. As part of a rewire I'm connecting up an unvented system and separate boiler for the heating. Boiler, pump and stat for heating all working but I have no experience of unvented cylinders.
I basically have the cylinder, 2 port valve and pump. Looking for a basic understanding and help with terminals. I have 6 terminals on the cylinder ( currently wired with a perm l from a timer switch. The other 3 terminals go to a separate device, thermostat / cut out?
I will attach a picture if possible. Thanks in advance.

20170728_164206.jpg

20170728_164145.jpg

20170728_164151.jpg

3 terminals are the immersion and the other are for the cylinder stat
You'll need 3 connections for a y plan at the cylinder or if it's an s plan then just 2

Last edited:
The three unused terminals are the C NC and NO connections of the cylinder thermostat. The overheat cutout is usually built in to the thermostata unit in this type of cylinder, but check the manual to confirm.

Connect it as per usual for a hot water cylinder if it is S plan, if it is Y plan the you need to add the two port valve in to the standard circuit so that the DHW demand from the cylinder stat opens the 2 port valve and then the microswitch of that valve fires the boiler.

What is that pump for, It looks like a secondary circulation pump?

As Dave says the yellow pump looks like secondary hot water return and will have either bronze or stainless steel internal components. Usually with a secondary hot water return I put the pump on its own single channel programmer so the customer can time it to come on before they are most likely to be using the hot water.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.