Discuss What would you expect from a trainee ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Matthew87

Evening guys, im looking for a little bit of advice and guidance for my current situation please

I currently work full time as a trainee electrician, and have had this job for the past 6 weeks while studying my 2365 level 2 at college on evenings

what I would like to know, is from your experience with trainees, what would you expect from somebody at my stage of training ? And at what rate would you expect the trainee to be progressing with jobs they are able to do ?

I always try my best, and at the minute my jobs are basically sweeping up and carrying tools, which im fine with

I just want to make sure im doing everything I can to make it worth his while having me as a trainee

Thanks very much

Matthew

Seriously though, an insatiable appetite for knowledge, turning up on time with the right gear on, the will to build up a good set of tools, politeness to customers, the ability to put the bloody phone away until break time.
Just generally a good attitude.

Seriously though, an insatiable appetite for knowledge, turning up on time with the right gear on, the will to build up a good set of tools, politeness to customers, the ability to put the bloody phone away until break time.
Just generally a good attitude.

Thats keeping them in good knick as well.

nothing worse than a rusty tool, you can tell a lot about a sparky by looking in his toolbox/bag

Especislly the flashy gits on here with veto pro pac's XD

and try ( being polite and tactful) to get your employer to get you using tools as well as carrying them. you're there to learn the trade, and while general fetching and carrying is part of being as trainee, you don't want to be just used as a labourer.