Discuss Where can I get advice on pricing domestic Electrical work? in the Computer and Networking Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

gungho

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hello,
I am not an electrician but I hope someone can help me out? I have had some rewiring started at my house (a 3 bed semi). The work was done by a friend I've known for years, so I completely trusted him and didn't question his price. I paid him all the money at the end of the first fix. I have since been told that he may be a bit expensive. I would like some advice about his price and if it is fair and reasonable? I haven't started the second fix yet.
I realise this may not be the place for this type of discussion, if not could someone point me in the direction where I can get some electricians opinions about it?
Many thanks in advance.

first, what was his quote?

then a breakdown of what is to be fitted would help to get a more accurate price.

Where can I get advice on pricing domestic Electrical work? IMG_2471 - EletriciansForums.net

*I realise this thread may be in the wrong section ( sorry I didn't realise which section it was in at the time I posted it!)

Thanks for the response, I have attached a photo of his breakdown ( which he gave me after I had paid him)
He discounted the price from £6947 to £5400 as I was a friend.

I was also concerned because this did not include rewiring the kitchen. Just 2 reception rooms, hallway, landing, 3 bedrooms, bathroom, a light and socket in the loft. He used a plastic consumer unit (should this be metal?), reconnected the old cooker supply and some of the old pre existing kitchen sockets.

Thanks

As Tel has already asked:

Also:
Is your friend an electrician?
Is he giving you the correct certificate at the end of the job?