Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss wire new kitchen ring socket & hob & central Heating - Hereford, HR1 in the Looking for Domestic Electricians? area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    Want to make kitchen in new place and need to rewire...
    Someone can advice me firstly if thats pics is ok??

    [​IMG]

    To the Central Heating will go 2.5mm
    To the hob will be 6mm to double pole switch above worktop then to connection unit under worktop
    all other will be on kitchen ring on separately circuit on consumer unit

    Some questions:
    1) OVEN can be on kitchen ring as showing on pic or should have separately circuit as well? some electrician told me its fine just to plug it into socket other one told me it have to be on own circuit...
    2) aplliances like washing machine, fridge, oven supplied with plug, tumble dryer, microwave and dishwasher can be just plug in to ring socket? or should be connected firstly to switch socket? (on my old kitchen all have separately switch socket but i dont know if its option or mandatory...)
    3) someone can say me what will be fair price for installing this kitchen?
    I want to prepare it for electrician (want make holes and fix plates, make tunnels for cables, drop cables to all sockets) so then electrician can just connect all cables, test it and certificate...

    If someone close Hereford can come advice and quote

    Regards
     
  2. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    1) OVEN can be on kitchen ring as showing on pic or should have separately circuit as well? some electrician told me its fine just to plug it into socket other one told me it have to be on own circuit...best on own circuit
    2) aplliances like washing machine, fridge, oven supplied with plug, tumble dryer, microwave and dishwasher can be just plug in to ring socket? or should be connected firstly to switch socket? (on my old kitchen all have separately switch socket but i dont know if its option or mandatory...) FCU or 20A D/P switch above worktop is advisable for easy access isolation but not obligatory.
    3) someone can say me what will be fair price for installing this kitchen? impossible to tell without seeing it and determining what accessories you want (plastic/brushed or chrome/etc.

    you'll be hard pushed to find an electrician willing for you to do so much of the work. generally, letting you do the chasing and maybe assist installing cables is acceptable to most.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Regarding your oven plugging in.
    It's is a recommendation only that any appliance/load 2kw or over is supplied via its own dedicated circuit rather than being plugged into the ring final circuit.
    As it's a kitchen with a number of appliances being connected to the ring I would have the oven on it own dedicated circuit as telectrix has pointed out.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  4. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    i'd also have fridge and freezers/s on separate radial circuit with RCBO to eliminate the risk of defrosting caused by a loss of supply due to a fault on the socket circuit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Seems like a high load for a ring final circuit.
     
  6. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    i'd have 2 circuits for sockets. maybe 4mm radials.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Op why do you require a 2.5mm to the boiler?
    Or is it a water heater?
     
  8. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Maybe a good idea to get a competent spark involved NOW and find one is part P registered
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  9. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    It is boiler...
    I dont need really as i read its enough 1.5mm it should be fine 1mm too but at the moment in old kitchen is 2.5mm and it is only 3 meters from consumer unit so was thinking about 2.5mm
     
  10. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ 1 mm will not comply with the regs
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Why?
    Has a 3 amp fuse in the spur.
    Or do you mean manufacturers instructions?
     
  12. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    I think its to do with the minimum size for a power circuit being 1.5mm
     
  13. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Define power tho.
    It's a poor definition in my opinion.
    1mm is more than adequate
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    I completely agree with you Ian
    I have considered it as nothing but silliness thats been the motive behind such a stupid regulation
    Edit to add
    Even a lighting circuit consumes power
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  15. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    think the intention of the regs. was to stipulate a min. of 1.5mm for a socket circuit, but as usual, not made clear and thus ambiguous.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - wire kitchen ring Forum Date
Domestic Advice on replacing consumer unit and DIY rewire of kitchen DIY Electrical Forum Jul 13, 2017
Ceiling rose wires and flush light Lighting Forum Today at 8:12 AM
whats needed for a rewire? Electrical Courses & Electrical NVQ's Yesterday at 9:12 PM
Full rewire needed in new home...eeeek! Electrical Forum Sunday at 1:31 PM
Electricians/rewire teams required Electricians Looking for Work / Jobs Jul 17, 2017
Does House built in 1960 Need Rewire? Electrical Forum Jul 12, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job