Discuss wiring a digital LED display to a project in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

mollydog

It's not car related but is a 12vdc porject, so hope someone can be of help to me on this project

I’m a bit of an amateur photographer when it comes to time-lapse photography and this past summer I’ve been doing some time lapse with my SJ4000, to do this.

up to now I’ve been using a small tripod and this timer:

wiring a digital LED display to a project {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

to give me these kind of results:

https://youtu.be/uve5d4nBmyw

https://youtu.be/ryp4y8QgJdU

(can’t help the music, youtube takes out anything copyright)

I’ve now got the bug and want to use my DSLR and to add more movement to the time-lapse photography I’ve bought myself this slider rail:

to make the most of these sliders a motor is very desirable, I didn’t buy one that had a motor pre fitted as these tend to be out of my budget costing well over £300

and reading on the net that adding a motor to one of these sliders can be done and cost can be kept to around £50

from the many videos and tutorials on the net, I’ve managed to get a list of the parts I need and the wiring diagram, so I’m fine (I think) on that score, this is the diagram of my wiring and main parts:

but I would like to add a LED readout when I use the motor speed regulator, so I can repeat the speed settings of the motor, something like this LED readout

here is where I’m lost, I don’t know which one to get or where to wire it in (if this can be done)

to give you some idea how it will all end up, here are some photos from the net

in this photo the power pack isn’t shown but gives an idea of the package