Discuss Wiring a lamp - advice please in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

RickJ

Hi,

Please go easy on me, I'm not an electrician. I'm making an industrial pipe lamp using plumbing parts. The flex is 3 core, 0.75mm. It came with inline switch and molded plug. Because the flex wasn't long enough before the switch to go through the lamp I'm having to splice it at the base of the lamp. I've used heat shrink crimps (see photo attached)Wiring a lamp - advice please DSC01874.JPG - EletriciansForums.net Do you think this will suffice? Or should I use an alternative method? I've run conduit through the metal pipe so the flex won't be in contact with the metal. Also all the parts are CE marked and the lamp(bulb) holder is earthed. I'm obviously keen for it to be safe.

Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers, Rick

The crimp connections should be enclosed.

Providing they are secure, I would pop a layer of good quality adhesive lined heatshrink over the top of them and try and pull/push them up into the tube so they are not accessible from the base. Unfortunately looking at it, that may be tricky because you've not staggered the connections so the whole lot may be too bulky to fit.

In terms of earthing, is the lamp holder metal? Do you have access to any test equipment? You should test for continuity (with the lamp unplugged and not connected to the mains) between the earth pin and the metal of the outside of the lamp holder and then, to the main metallic body (the pipework I guess) of the lamp itself.

The chaps may have more to add, but those are a couple of pointers to get you started.