Discuss Without Part P Scheme? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

Craig1982

I have seen people on this forum say thay are not with a scheme and still carry out domestic work. Now as I am new to this I was under the impression that you had to be with one of the bodys to carry out domestic work? So I have a couple of questions,

1. Do you need to be with one of the bodies/schemes to do domestic work?
2. If you dont how to you go about signing off the work yourself and all the legal side of things, eg building control etc?
3. If there is anything else I would need to no if I did not chose to go with one of the schemes?

Thanks

Craig

most LABCs require you to be a member of a cash cow scheme. otherwise you have to pay them to certify your work. download the part p doc. and have a read of it.

Cheers Tel, dose anyone not use the schemes and if posible run through a breakdown of how they go about there work, if possible?

Only certain work, has to be notified, such as new work in kitchens, bathrooms, gardens, new circuits and CU changes.
Replacement of existing equipment, additions and alterations to existing circuits (other than in such areas as listed above) does not.

I have seen people on this forum say thay are not with a scheme and still carry out domestic work. Now as I am new to this I was under the impression that you had to be with one of the bodys to carry out domestic work? So I have a couple of questions,

2. If you dont how to you go about signing off the work yourself and all the legal side of things, eg building control etc?
3. If there is anything else I would need to no if I did not chose to go with one of the schemes?

Thanks

Craig

I have worked with people or companies that are responsible for the installation, inspection and testing :thumbsup