Discuss Without Pendants in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

greenm4n

Hi - I'm a newbie on this forum so go easy on me!

I have an install where the customer has specified ceiling mounted light fittings, (e.g. bathroom-type fittings).
The fitting only has single Live & single Neutral terminal.

i) Where do all the other connections go?
ii) Is it right to just use connection blocks + PVC Tape & push into the ceiling void?

Currently in install has been wired in the normal way for domestic lighting, (e.g. One cable to previous fitting, One cable to next fitting and 3rd cable to Wall light switch.

iii) Is there a better way to wire a lights circuit when most of the lights are without pendant fittings?

Steve Shaw
(still to work out his catchy signature!!)

Hi - I'm a newbie on this forum so go easy on me!

I have an install where the customer has specified ceiling mounted light fittings, (e.g. bathroom-type fittings).
The fitting only has single Live & single Neutral terminal.

i) Where do all the other connections go?
ii) Is it right to just use connection blocks + PVC Tape & push into the ceiling void?

Currently in install has been wired in the normal way for domestic lighting, (e.g. One cable to previous fitting, One cable to next fitting and 3rd cable to Wall light switch.

iii) Is there a better way to wire a lights circuit when most of the lights are without pendant fittings?

Steve Shaw
(still to work out his catchy signature!!)

Welcome to the forum.

Do you mean a batten-lampholder like this: http://www.discount-electrical.co.u...th-terminals/b06025b5f6b8227e74bdb3c8908187f0

This should still have a connection base (like a ceiling rose).

You shouldn't really be asking question ii)

Last edited:
would be better to purchase surface fittings that accommodate a loop terminal in future. In the mean time you will have to install an accessible joint box just prior to the light fitting.