Discuss Ze - zs = r1 + r2? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

conorchapple

Hi I'm new here, I'm a second year apprentice.

When we do domestic testing such as a eicr my boss says that he can 'work out' R1 + R2 by taking the ZE from the ZS however i don't think this is correct as everyone would just do it?? I just wanted to confirm that this isn't correct as i do need to learn the correct way to test new installations for the future and for my college exams.

THANKS

Unfortunately your boss is wrong. You should not calculate the R1 + R2 from the Zs although it is deemed acceptable to calculate Zs from a measured R1 + R2.

Zs usually has parallel paths to earth, often through gas and water pipework, which would lower the Zs and reduce the calculated R1R2. So it would be incorrect to calculate R1R2 in that instance. I was taught that R1R2 should always be measured.

It is definately not the correct way due to parallel paths as already said. In fact, the cpc could be completely open circuit and totally relying on parallel path for continuity. Your boss is not alone though, there are many that calc like this though as it gives them a figure for the box and makes out they carried out the dead test. He would be better to just LIM the R1 & R2 box and just record Zs on a EICR. That is perfectly acceptable if agreed with client and very common on commercial EICR's. He should really be doing it all on a domestic though due to easy isolation and small amount of circuits tbh.

Last edited:
agreewith above posts. R1+R2 should be measured before energising circuit/s. then Zs measured when circuit/s is/are live.