Discuss 2394+2395 combined course in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

amckay

I've enrolled on the above city&guilds course which I'm doing 2 evenings per week for several weeks. I have little prior testing experience only really cont tests and IR tests. I'm looking for practical advice from anyone who has done the above courses before, (not neseceraly combined) hints and tips. I suppose the thing that concerns me most is the written exams as I've never had to do a written exam since school! I already have gn3 for light reading lol also wondering if the exam success books are any help?
Thanks guys and guyettes!

Last edited by a moderator:
main thing is GN3. also take note of correct terminology. e.g. Insulation Resistance Test Meter, not Megger.

You may have done an EAL inspecting and testing course. I believe they concentrate more on the practical sides of things and it's the equivalent of the C&G 2394 & 2395. It is also an open book exam

Sorry I forgot to mention its the city&guilds version. I take it that the EAL version is the only one of the two that is open book?
Thanks tel, I'll work on proper terminology!

GN3 all the way when doing this course. I found the C&G exam success book useful too, let's you know exactly what the exam will be like and how to answer the questions, terminology etc, it also has a past paper. Google 2391 past papers too, very similar. Be weary of your time during the exams. Good luck !

Sorry I forgot to mention its the city&guilds version. I take it that the EAL version is the only one of the two that is open book?

Yes mate, If you're not very good at written exams, the EAL one will suit you more as it more practical than written.

where you doing your course at ?