Discuss 3 plate switching in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sparky parky

Hi guys,
I've been a trainee electrician for nearly two years, working only on new builds.
a friend of mine has just moved in to a new house and has asked me to do a few little jobs for him before the plasterer comes in. He wants me to add a security light to the back of his house, however all of his lighting is 3 plate which I've never really had anything to do with.
on his kitchen lighting he has a flourescent with a feed in, feed out + switch line. Is it possible for me to run another feed out of this connection down to a switch by the back door then a switch line out of the switch to a security light?
Any help would be great
adam

If the lighting is three plate then every light fitting (including the fluorescent) will have a permanent line, neutral and earth (and also a switched line).
Therefore from any fitting you can take your permanent L, N , E to either a fitting or a switch (if you loop the neutral) to supply another light.
If it is a security light then you may need a permanent line to the PIR sensor depending on how you want to control the light.

twin and earth to the switch from the light then a 3 core and earth out to the PIR light, you can then switch it as well as have the permanent feed needed.

twin and earth to the switch from the light then a 3 core and earth out to the PIR light, you can then switch it as well as have the permanent feed needed.
this is how I would normally wire any lighting circuit with my company, feed the switch and switch lines out, 3core for pirs.
thanks for your help though all I wanted to know was weather I could use the cables at the fluorescent as a feed

this is how I would normally wire any lighting circuit with my company, feed the switch and switch lines out, 3core for pirs.
thanks for your help though all I wanted to know was weather I could use the cables at the fluorescent as a feed