Discuss 60 Hz at 0 volts? :( in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

keynotez

Hello folks! I'm just a newbie here. I'm just confused where did the 60 Hz came from even at 0 volts on the line. I have a data gathering at a generator set using a HIOKI power analyzer. When the generator shuts down, of course the voltage at the lines are zero and the frequency MUST be also zero, am I right? I'm really confused that right after it reaches a low frequency (e.i. 35 Hz at 0 volts), it will now rise to 60 Hz all through out the recording period. Where did that 60 Hz came from? Any help will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance...

Hz relate directly to rotation, so if the generator has stopped theres no Hz, maybe you analiser's up the creek. And the normal uk supply is 50Hz.

The analyzer can be supplied by 50/60 Hz. Is there no other reasons why it came up that way? :(
I need badly the results but because of that error. I'm getting more pressured...

Tony, you may be right. I'll check if there was a base frequency setting. But as far as I could remember and on reading the manual, the frequency reading will be set on either Line 1, 2 or 3. But anyway, I would still check on the instrument if there was base frequency setting. Thanks a lot Sir! I feel better now...

Reply to 60 Hz at 0 volts? :( in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hello everyone my name is Tarek, i work as a concert and show lighting operator with over 20 years of experience in this field, so i have gained...
Replies
Views
S
I'm considering buying a used petrol generator but there seems to be some confusion as to what the output frequency is, 50 or 60 Hz. Is there...
Replies
Views
starcott
S
B
Prefix - I've tried to post this in automotive, but it would not let me. This may be because I have not been recently active. Apologies if this is...
Replies
Views
K