• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss A little about me and what I’ve done in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
morning folks, I’ve been an electrician for over 20 years in the RAF working on generators and associated equipment used to maintain aircraft. Essentially if it didn’t fly with the aircraft I fixed it. Alongside that I regularly set up Temporary Electrical Installations for various uses from accommodation tents, working environments and entertainment. This second part required 17th edition knowledge skills as well as Inspect and Test. There was no legal requirement to hold 2391 so we were trained to the standard (by a lecturer who also taught in the local college) including completion of a past paper that he marked.

I’m here because I left the RAF this year and I thought it’d be a good place to come and make sure I’m still doing things right.