Discuss Abs and glow plug light errors,blowing 80 amp fuse. in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,newbie here,i,ll dive straight in,i have a daewoo musso 2.9td 1999,and its developed a fault,the abs light is permently on and i have no glow plug light and its a mare trying to start from cold,ive had it a 5 garages local to me,four of them started crying because they couldnt scan it,the 5th bless him has got the furthest yet he found the 3rd glow plug cable was touching the engine and causing the 80amp abs fuse to blow,he straightened the end out which is attached to glow plug and i had both lights doing what they should been great for 4 days now its blown fuse again and in back to square 1,has anyone any ideas where i go from here,im thinking its now the cable could be shorting out somewhere but m guessing,cheers all.

I'm no expert on Daewoo glow plugs but if a cable was damaged and had just been 'straigtended out' then I would be looking there again for the problem. Its probably time to replace that glow plug and or loom (and check the others wbilst you are there). I imadgine the loom could be salvaged from a breakers or possibly the ends rebuilt by an auto electrician with the correct crimp tools.

Hi shaun1,thanks for reply,the guy did bench test all plugs and they were all good,he replaced no3,because when he tested it it blew the fuse on his tester,id replaced the plug myself a week earlierxwhen my problems originally started,and i must of twisted the cable,but what sounds funny to me is the problem was already there,so dont understand why mechanic said the cable was touching engine and blowing fuse,am i right in thinking a fuse will blow because theres a short or bad ground,electrics is such a minefield very confusing.