Discuss Adding a spur to an existing circuit on a BS3036 CU in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

E

electro-lass

Hi there,
I'm a newly trained electrician with limited experience and could really use some expert advice. I've searched through the forum about this but have only managed to confuse myself further. I have been asked to add a double socket to a living room ring circuit. My plan is to spur off an existing socket in the living room running the cable under the floor boards. The CU is a Wylex BS3036 board. To comply with regulations, does the double socket that I install have to be RCD protected?

Yes,all socket outlets for general use need RCD protection, and the cable will do as well unless it is surface mounted or more than 50mm below the surface.

Hi there,
I'm a newly trained electrician with limited experience and could really use some expert advice. I've searched through the forum about this but have only managed to confuse myself further. I have been asked to add a double socket to a living room ring circuit. My plan is to spur off an existing socket in the living room running the cable under the floor boards. The CU is a Wylex BS3036 board. To comply with regulations, does the double socket that I install have to be RCD protected?

best way, IMO, is to comme off the 3036 RFC fuse ( and the N ) to a stand alone RCD in enclosure adjacent to the CU. then the whole of the RFC is RCD protected. make sure you test the circuit for faults first, though.

You could also use rcd fused spur on ring main to supply your socket if space is an issue around cu for separate Inclosure for inline rcd as suggested in previous post.