Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Advice needed for non-paying customer in the Business Related area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. pete1

pete1 EF Member

Hi,

This is my first post on the forum, and I was wondering if anyone could advise me of the best course of action to take against a customer who is unable to pay me.
    I am a self employed electrician working mainly on domestic and commercial. Back in June 2011 I was contacted by a local guy who was building a new home by himself on a garden plot. I was asked to provide an estimate for the usual stuff, lighting and power, etc, and as the guy was a retired builder I agreed to give him my trade day rate, my estimate was accepted and I started work shortly after. Once work had begun the customer started making changes such as adding underfloor heating with stats in all rooms, and an air source heat pump as the main heat source, not to mention lots of extra sockets, lighting and tv points, I discussed these new requirements with the customer and offered to re-quote to which he said that he knew it would be a bit more and he was not too woried about the costs. Work carried on and after a week I had finished the 1st fix, I then asked about payment for the work so far which was stated in my terms to which I was told that, he needed to talk to me about that and would only be able to pay a little towards materials at this stage as he was waiting for a bridging loan. In the end I was paid £600 for materials but nothing for labour. Since July I have been back 2 or 3 times to do a few extras so that he could get plastering and painting underway, and to speed up the build, I recommended a mate of mine to do the plastering who was paid in advance. The customer has now asked me to come back again to move some sockets, c