Discuss Advice Needed - Lights blown after fitting in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
First off I'll say I'm not an electrician at all, I'm just a guy who bought a house and tried to fit new lights in the hallway. So I found that out of the two light sockets, one had the usual three wires (blue, brown and yellow/green) whilst the other had two of each of those wires, so 6 in total. I fitted both lights, but on the second one (with the 6 wires) I put two wires into each connector, without knowing any better. The lights worked for a few days, then one day I turned them on and there was a pop and they went off. The light switch I used has now fused (I think), basically it won't flick on and off anymore, it's just stuck. So I was going to call an electrician but in an attempt to save some money, is there an easy fix here, or an obvious reason as to what went wrong? I spoke to a friend who knows a bit about this and he suggested maybe I shouldn't have put two of each wire into the second light, and that some of those wires should have been marked up in some way (they weren't, beyond having two blue, two brown and two yellow/green).

Thanks for any advice

If they worked once you'd completed the change over, it's likely that the failure is not your fault and from the sounds of it is more likely to be a result of a failure in the light itself. Are they low voltage lamps?

Don't suppose you have any photos of the before and after wiring?

Either that or you didn't make a great job of connecting them, a cable has come loose and shorted out.

My advice would be to engage the services of a local electrician (preferably based on a recommendation from family, friends or colleagues). It sounds to me like it might be a simple enough task to fix it up and if you phoned me asking about this I'd probably quote you an hour of my time to investigate the fault.

Welcome to the forum mate.