Discuss Advice needed please in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm not an electrician but joined the forum to ask for some advice on using terminal blocks. My old flat roof has started leaking and water was coming in through the ceiling switch and travelling down the pull cord - although it clicked on and off the bulb wouldn't turn off. I removed the fuse for lights in my house straight away and took the entire switch off to allow things to drain and dry out. I have hopefully made the flat roof watertight for now but it needs to be replaced which will take a while to organise. I want to isolate the wires with a terminal block so that I can put the fuse back and have lights everywhere else. So please can you tell me which amp terminal block I should use and any other advice on making it safe would be gratefully appreciated. Many thanks

A terminal block is not water proof. If you have failed in making the roof water proof then that may not suffice. I would be inclined to disconnect the light in question from the lighting circuit. That may require an Electrician.

Is the water only coming in the pull cord and no other light affected by the leak then the switch wires to the pull cord could be disconnected but will mean that this light would not work a picture may help advice given?

Hi OP: Is the water leak dripping onto the pull light switch or is it getting wet due to the water near it?
If it's dripping near the list switch then @buzzlightyear suggestion of an umbrella may not be that silly. Put it over the light fitting area to keep the water away from it.
Without looking at the wiring its hard to correctly suggest what is best to use while the switch dries out. Maybe the below links will be ok for what you need at a temp solution, while the switch dries out.
http://cpc.farnell.com/wago/222-413/terminal-block-w-lever-3cond-4mm/dp/CN12062?st=wago
http://cpc.farnell.com/wago/wagobox/box-junction/dp/CN12369?st=wago box