Discuss Advice please depth of buried cable in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

CourtneyDesigns

Hi all
Can anyone tell me is there a legal requirement to bury exterior armoured cable at a particular depth or is it just a recommendation. I am not an electrician but am in dispute with a company.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Stuart

If you have a BS 7671-2008 regs book then regulation 522.8.10 is the guide to take. The last sentance is

" Buried cables, conduits, and ducts shall be at a sufficient depth to avoid being damaged by any reasonably foreseeable disturbance of the ground"

A rule of thumb is in a garden below one and half spade length or below 500mm and under drives and such under between 500-750 mm.

Last edited:
Just to explain a little further
We were installing a fence for our client on a barn conversion. We hit a swa cable ( for lighting bollard) that was buried approx 4 inches.They new where the fence was to be situated. They are now trying deduct £400 off the oustanding balance.
Thanks

Just to explain a little further
We were installing a fence for our client on a barn conversion. We hit a swa cable ( for lighting bollard) that was buried approx 4 inches.They new where the fence was to be situated. They are now trying deduct £400 off the oustanding balance.
Thanks

The regs (which aren't law) just state a suitable depth. Now your version of a suitable depth and theirs may differ. You should have been made aware where the cable was and you should have had a banksman looking for it when digging. If the distributors buried the cable I.E scottish power.... they just lob them in I've seen some 2 inches deep (really).

It is going to be extremely hard for you to get yourself out of this one....