Discuss AM2 general questions in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
just about to book my AM2 as a final part to get myself approved.

What do I need to brush up on?
I’ve recently bought the regs book even though I know the 18th edition is due in June o_O and have a well thumbed on site guide somewhere, am I right in it being open book on the theory side? Practical install I don’t think I’ll have any issues as I have 15 years experience, just brush up on my heating systems as I’m mainly commercial and industrial, I’m pretty confident with testing too so shouldn’t have issues there either.

Just asking for advice from people that have done it recentlyish as what areas I need to be hot on?

Thanks in advance.

The online part is 30 questions. You are not allowed to take your own books in with you but they do supply you with all the books you will need. If I remember correctly my questions was all pretty easy... "where would you not errect a mobile scaffold" and "what does part P not cover" was just some of my questions but you could be unlucky and get a cable calc one. Had a few on special locations aswell.

And the heating system is easy you have a wiring diagram to follow and it is just simply a dot to dot.

I did mine like 10 years ago, unsure what it’s like now however they were really hot on isolation procedures. Also got brownie points for bending the galv. In one piece without couplers. One domestic spark used three couplers, in places where I thought couplers couldn’t exist!
Good luck and enjoy it! I doubt the heating systems are hard, just follow the diagrams!

Thanks guys, if I have a wiring diagram to follow for heating then I’ll be fine, it’s just been such a long time I don’t know it off by heart as I rarely mess with domestic heating systems, I’ve read a few times that I need to be really careful with the spec too as they try and catch you out?