Discuss Another Part P Question in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all,

Bit of background before I jump into the query to try

I'm a qualified electrician by trade, completed my apprenticeship with a large commercial contractor through 2007-2011 and worked as a subcontractor, for around a year, before being fortunate enough to jump into a design office in 2012. No test and inspect qualification- only the test and inspection experience was site experience assisting the testing team for about a year around different jobs, and during college/AM2/logbook evidence witnessing in my final year.

Six years on and I'm a year away from completing a Building Services degree and I'm designing large commercial schemes for a reasonably sized M&E contractor, so exposed to 7671 and other BS's on a daily basis. I'm booked in to do my 18th edition in September, completed my H&S test, and waiting to submit my application to renew my ECS (for site visits and the like).

Having kept my hands fairly clean on the installation side of things, doing very few jobs for family (such as fault finding and isolation/making safe etc), I'm gearing up to rewire a house my partner and I have just bought. The installation dates back to the 70's/80's, aside from a PV install in 2011.

I'm running around in circles on the web with the best way to approach this in order to do it by the book, in line with building control and Part P.

It's a rewire, and new consumer unit, so I'm in no doubt of the need notification and 'sign off' (hate that phrase) in line with Part P.

The way I'm understanding it, my competency is what it is - my qualifications and experience; and I'm more than confident I can tackle the install and design to the big blue book.