Discuss Anyone drive a pickup rather than a van? in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

polo1

-
Arms
Reaction score
As the title, I'm thinking about changing from a Vivaro to a pickup. It wouldn't have as much carrying capacity, but that would just make me more disciplined about what ai carry. Sooo, has anyone made a similar change and if so with what result - happy, big mistake, or.....???

Is a 'pickup' an open back van sometimes with a removable fibreglass canopy?

Like this??
Anyone drive a pickup rather than a van? images - EletriciansForums.net

I've been using pick ups for 4 years. Much preferable to a van, you'll be surprised just how much you can get in the back!

Anyone drive a pickup rather than a van? ima - EletriciansForums.net

This is before my canopy was put on the back

I wasn't that happy with my navara, but was more the customer services. DO NOT get a snug top canopy

I had thought about changing, but was put off when the plumber had one and said that they suffer with moisture in the back leading to rusting issues? I was also concerned as to how safe the canopy would be in terms of security of tools etc?
I had thought about a Defender but they seem to hold their price and to get a reasonably aged one was a bucket load so opted for a van again.

Any advice?

I haven't found any downsides. My wildtrak is like 5m long and 2m wide so multi storey car parks are interesting sometimes But that's it.
I got a Pegasus canopy on my new one. Amazing! Noones breaking into that. The doors on it are the same as the cab doors. Thick and sturdy. (The snugtop was so flimsy. I opened it with a fork once when I accidentally locked keys in the back!) has "doors" on the sides too so can access stuff at the front easily without climbing through the back